- Tech know how online

IEEE 802.11ay

IEEE 802.11ay is an IEEE working group for the standardization of a new physical layer for the transmission of millimeter waves in the 60 GHz band. The 802.11ay standard is a further development of 802.11ad. This standard increases data throughput and also offers significantly more application options.

Due to the high free space attenuation at 60 GHz, 802.11ay can only be used for applications in which short distances have to be bridged. These include applications inside buildings, for outdoor transport links, and around short-range communications. It is about virtual reality streaming and the transmission of uncompressed, high- resolution video according to the 4K standard and the 8K standard.

In 802.11ay, the 60 GHz band is divided into six frequency ranges. The center frequencies are 58.32 GHz, 60.48 GHz, 62.64 GHz, 64.80 GHz, 66.96 GHz and 69.12 GHz. The bandwidth of the frequency range is 2.16 GHz. In the European Union, the lower four ranges are used and can be bundled. This results in a bandwidth of 8.64 GHz. The data rate of one channel is 44 Gbit/s. The system works with channel bundling of 2, 3 and 4 channels, it is equipped with Multi-User MIMO( MU-MIMO) and reaches a total data rate of 176 Gbit/s with four streams. As a modulation method, 802.11ay uses quadrature amplitude modulation according to QAM256.

Englisch: IEEE 802.11ay
Updated at: 03.11.2019
#Words: 202
Links: IEEE 802, working group (WG), physical layer (PHY), transmission, gigahertz (GHz)
Translations: DE

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2024