ITWissen.info - Tech know how online

Dust Network

The Dust Network, developed by Dust Networks Inc., is a low-power radio-based meshed sensor network, Wireless Sensor Network (WSN). The Dust Network dates back to the 1990s and operates in the ISM band at 2.4 GHz

. In

terms ofconfiguration, a Dust Network consists of a manager entity and various nodes. The communication between the nodes and is time synchronous in time slots. The allocation method is a channel hopping method and is called Time Slotted Channel Hopping (TSCH). In the TSCH method, the time slots are allocated to the nodes with microsecond precision, so that the transmission times and reception times of all nodes are known. This has the advantage that the nodes are switched active

only for the time slots assigned to them, reducing the power consumption.The networks can have over a hundred nodes and operate compliant with 6LoWPAN and IEEE 802.15.4e. The manager unit records link values, supports monitoring and provides reporting. Redundantpaths

can be established due to the flexibility of the link routes and mappings. In addition, when battery power decreases, the active transmission modes and passive sleep modes can be changed. Dust Networks can be used in many industrial fields such as logistics and inventory as wireless sensor networks, sensing physical variables such as temperature, pressure, vibration, humidity, and many other variables.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: Dust Network
Updated at: 04.12.2020
#Words: 286
Links:
Translations: DE

Dust Network

Das Dust Network, entwickelt von Dust Networks Inc., ist ein stromsparendes auf Funkbasis arbeitendes vermaschtes Sensornetzwerk, Wireless Sensor Network (WSN). Das Dust Network stammt aus den 90er Jahren und arbeitet im ISM-Band bei 2,4 GHz.

Von der Konfiguration her besteht ein Dust Network aus einer Manager-Einheit und diversen Knoten. Die Kommunikation zwischen den Knoten und erfolgt zeitsynchron in Zeitschlitzen. Das Zuteilungsverfahren ist ein Kanalsprungverfahren und nennt sich Time Slotted Channel Hopping (TSCH). Bei dem TSCH-Verfahren werden die Zeitschlitze den Knoten mikrosekundengenau zugeordnet, so dass die Sendezeiten und Empfangszeiten aller Knoten bekannt sind. Das hat den Vorteil, dass die Knoten nur für die ihnen zugeordneten Zeitschlitze aktiv geschaltet werden, wodurch der Energiebedarf reduziert wird.

Die Netzwerke können über hundert Knoten haben und arbeiten konform mit 6LoWPAN und IEEE 802.15.4e. Die Manager-Einheit erfasst die Verbindungswerte, unterstützt das Monitoring und sorgt für das Reporting. Durch die Flexibilität der Verbindungsstrecken und Zuordnungen können redundante Pfade aufgebaut werden. Außerdem kann bei nachlassender Batterieleistung die aktiven Übertragungsmodi und die passiven Schlafmodi verändern.

Dust Networks können in vielen industriellen Bereichen wie der Logistik und der Bestandsaufnahme als drahtlose Sensornetzwerke eingesetzt werden und physikalische Größen wie Temperatur, Druck, Schwingung, Feuchtigkeit und vielen anderen Größen erfassen.

Informationen zum Artikel
Deutsch: Dust Network
Englisch:
Veröffentlicht: 04.12.2020
Wörter: 206
Tags: IP-Netze
Links: 6LoWPAN-Protokoll, Aktiv, Gigahertz, 802.15, ISM-Band