- Tech know how online

standard ambiguous code (SAC)

The Standard Ambiguous Code (SAC) defines the letters assigned to a specific numeric key on the mobile phone keypad. This assignment was standardized by the International Telecommunication Union

(ITU). For example, the SAC code assigns the letters A, B, C to the number key 2 on the mobile phone keypad, and the letters D, E, F, etc. to the number key 3. Most of the number keys are assigned three letters, only the number keys 7 and 9 are assigned four letters.

Key assignment of mobile phones standardized by the ITU

Key assignment of mobile phones standardized by the ITU

The letters are activated by pressing the same number key several times. If the letter "S" is called, then the number key 7 must be pressed four times. The letter entries are used for the Short Message Service (SMS) and for the name entries in the phone book. To limit the multiple presses, there are text entry aids such as T9(Text on 9 Keys) which reduce the entry to a single key press per letter.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: standard ambiguous code - SAC
Updated at: 30.08.2017
#Words: 180
Translations: DE