- Tech know how online

network areas

The term network level originates from the broadband cable networks. To regulate the responsibilities of the various cable network operators, the network areas were divided into network levels. The network level model was later adopted in fiber-optic-based building cabling.

Network level 1 begins at the studio exit and ends at a switching point. This supraregional network level 1 primarily uses directional radio for transmission.

Network level 2 is used to distribute television and radio signals in the regional area. The network level, which is divided into subsections, uses directional radio, satellite, fiber optics and broadband cable networks for transmission.

The local area is designated network level 3 and is tangential to the access network or the cable distribution network. In the case of a cable distribution network, the headend is located at network level 3. Signals are transmitted on network level 3 up to the house transfer point(HÜP). If transmission is via optical fibers, the outdoor FO cables are routed to the optical fiber termination point(GF- AP) and from there to the optical fiber building distributor(GF-GV). The topology of network level 3 is tree-like.

Network level 4 is the home distribution area(HVtA) from the home handover point (HÜP). This network level ends at the connection socket in the subscriber's apartment. In a cable distribution network in the frequency range from 47 MHz to 446 MHz, around 50 TV channels are available to the subscriber at this outlet. Network level 4 merges into network level 5 before the apartment transfer point(WÜP).

Network level 5 is the subscriber-related area from the residential transfer point via the wall outlet to the television set. Network level 5 includes the residential network.

Englisch: network areas
Updated at: 25.10.2020
#Words: 266
Links: network, level, broadband, cable, cabling
Translations: DE

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2024