- Tech know how online

multifactor authentication (MFA)

Multifactor Authentication (MFA) are part of Fast Identification Online(FIDO) and are used to effectively increase authentication security. These authentication techniques combine multiple independent authentication methods.

Multiple authentication techniques are called Two-Factor Authentication( 2FA), Three-Factor Authentication (3FA), Four-Factor Authentication( 4FA) or Five-Factor Authentication (5FA). The latter, 2FA to 5FA.

Single-Factor Authentication( SFA) is the classic authenticationmethod that generally uses passwords. Two-Factor Authentication combines two authentication techniques, such as a password, passphrase or personal identification number( PIN) with a biometric, fingerprint, voice recognition or iris recognition. And Three-Factor Authentication involves three different factors. This can be a secret question combined with a personal identification number (PIN) and a method of biometrics such as a fingerprint, voiceprint or retina recognition.

Multiple authentication increases the security of identity verification. It forms a layered defense that makes it more difficult to gain unauthorized access to a computer, network, or database. Once the attacker has cracked one authentication, he has to overcome the next hurdle. With multi-factor authentication, security increases with each additional authentication technique.

Englisch: multifactor authentication - MFA
Updated at: 27.05.2021
#Words: 168
Links: fast identification online (FIDO), authentication, security, two-factor authentication (2FA), four factor authentication (4FA)
Translations: DE

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2024