- Tech know how online

extended data availability and protection (EDAP)

Extended DataAvailability and Protection (EDAP) is a classification system of RAID systems developed by the RAID

Advisory Board (RAB). The EDAP classification is intended to ensure user requirements in terms of comparability of reliability, availability and ease of use of RAID systems. The EDAP standard classifies between three different availability levels for hard disk systems, in which over twenty criteria are distinguished. The three EADP availability levels are:

  • Fault Resistant RAID Systems, Fault Resistant,
  • Fault Tolerant RAID systems, Fault Tolerant,
  • Disaster Tolerant RAID systems, Disaster Tolerant.
The higher EDAP availability levels always include all the criteria of the lower levels.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: extended data availability and protection - EDAP
Updated at: 02.04.2008
#Words: 16
Translations: DE