- Tech know how online

SAE level

The Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) has defined six classes of automation for automated driving

systems (ADS), which are referred to as SAE level in SAE standard J3016:SAE level 0. No automation. At SAE level 0, the driver has complete control of the vehicle and the system. Systems that may fall into this category are collision warning systems and lane departurewarning systems

The Six SAE Levels

The Six SAE Levels

SAE Level 1 Driver Assistance

. The driver is in control of the vehicle, but the system can change the speed and steering direction of the vehicle. Systems that may fall into this category are adaptive cruise control and lane departure warningSAE Level 2. Partial Automation SA

E Level 2 requires the driver to control the vehicle when corrections are needed, but the driver is no longer in control of the vehicle's speed and steering. Parking assist

is an example of such a system that falls into this category, along with the autopilot function.

SAE level 3. Conditional automation

The system has complete control over vehicle functions such as speed, steering, and monitoring the environment under certain conditions, such as on a secured car road with no junctions and limited driving speed. The driver must be ready to intervene and take control of the vehicleSAE level 4. high automation

. At SAE level 4, the automated system can perform all driving tasks itself and monitor the driving environment under certain circumstances. No driver intervention is required. SAElevel 5. full automation. An automated driving system (ADS) drives the vehicle fully autonomously and can take over all driving under all circumstances. The human occupants are only passengers and never need to be involved in driving.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: SAE level
Updated at: 05.03.2020
#Words: 336
Translations: DE