- Tech know how online

ISO 9000

ISO 900x is a series of standards for quality management systems. The series of standards, dating from the 1980s, consists of several individual standards that cover the guides, standards, terms and quality management models. It is also a guide to the use of ISO standards 9001 to 9004 for quality assurance and certification of quality in production and services. ISO 9000 has been adopted as DIN 9000 and as the European standard DIN EN ISO 9000. The current version of ISO 9000, adopted in 2000, is called ISO 9000:2000.

In detail, the ISO 9000 series of standards are ISO 9000:2000, ISO 9001:2000, ISO 9002:1994, ISO 9003:1994 and ISO 9004:2000.

ISO 9000:2000 describes the fundamentals of quality management systems and defines quality management( QM). ISO 9001:2000 is about certification. This standard describes the QM system requirements that must be met for certification. In addition, this standard deals with the further development of QM systems and their performance improvement. The ISO 9002:1994 and ISO 9003:1994 standards were not revised in 2000. Since they are almost identical to the ISO 9001:2000 standard, only the latter is still used. ISO 9004:2000 forms a consistent unit with ISO 9001:2000 and deals with the integration of QM systems into an organization as well as with the performance improvement of QM systems and their development towards business excellence.

Englisch: ISO 9000
Updated at: 30.11.2018
#Words: 199
Links: international organization for standardization (ISO), quality management (QM), quality assurance (QA), standard (STD), enterprise network (EN)
Translations: DE

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2024