- Tech know how online

8 binary, 6 ternary (8B6T)

8B6T coding is referred to as "8 bit Word to 6 Ternary Symbols" and is a line coding in which 8-bit words are mapped to 6 trivalent symbols (ternary). Trivalent symbols represent minus, zero, and plus (-, 0, +) values. In 8B6T coding, the bit combinations are converted directly into three electrical levels

and can be used directly for transmission. 8B6T coding is used, for example, in Fast Ethernet according to IEEE 802.3 100Base-T4.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: 8 binary, 6 ternary - 8B6T
Updated at: 27.03.2019
#Words: 50