ITWissen.info - Tech know how online

Airnergy

Airnergy is a made-up word coined by the company RCA for a technical concept for charging cell phones and smartphones using wireless technology. Airnergy extracts energy from the electromagnetic radiation ofWLAN hotspots, which it uses to charge the batteries of cell phones and smartphones.

Theoretically, this is also possible, but in practice there are considerable physical limitations. These are mainly due to the extremely low energy generation, which depends on the field strength and thus on the distance to the transmitter. It decreases linearly with distance, and the power flux density even quadratically. This means that energy transmission, if at all, can only take place in the immediate vicinity of a hotspot. At ten times the distance from the hotspot, only one hundredth of the radiated energy is available.

Transmission principles for wireless power

Transmission principles for wireless power

Under these conditions, wireless power transfer (WPT) by means of radio becomes relative. Airnergy should therefore be seen more as a thought-provoking approach for the future.

WiFi hotspot for Airnergy, photo: RCA

WiFi hotspot for Airnergy, photo: RCA

In the Airnergy concept, the hotspot is powered via the USB interface of a computer. A power transfer only takes place under the mentioned conditions. However, it is extremely low and, depending on the distance between the hotspot and the cell phone, is likely to be in the microwatt range.

In addition to the Airnergy concept, there are two other radio-based energy transmission concepts, PowerBeam and WiTricity.

Informations:
Englisch: Airnergy
Updated at: 02.12.2017
#Words: 231
Links: word, electromagnetic radiation (EMR), field strength (F), transmitter (TX), power (P)
Translations: DE
Sharing:    

All rights reserved DATACOM Buchverlag GmbH © 2022

Airnergy

Airnergy ist ein von der Firma RCA geprägtes Kunstwort für ein technisches Konzept für die Aufladung von Handys und Smartphones per Funktechnik. Airnergy gewinnt aus der elektromagnetischen Strahlung von WLAN-Hotspots Energie mit der es Akkus von Handys und Smartphones aufladen soll.


Theoretisch ist das auch möglich, in der Praxis gibt es allerdings erhebliche physikalische Einschränkungen. Diese liegen vor allem in der äußerst geringen Energiegewinnung, die abhängig ist von der Feldstärke und damit wiederum von der Entfernung zum Sender. Sie nimmt linear mit der Entfernung ab, die Leistungsflussdichte sogar quadratisch. Das bedeutet, dass eine Energieübertragung, wenn überhaupt, nur in unmittelbarer Nähe eine Hotspots stattfinden kann. In zehnfacher Entfernung vom Hotspot steht nämlich nur noch ein hundertstel der abgestrahlten Energie zur Verfügung.

Übertragungsprinzipien für Wireless 
   Power

Übertragungsprinzipien für Wireless Power

Unter diesen Voraussetzungen relativiert sich die drahtlose Energieübertragung, der Wireless Power Transfer (WPT), mittels Funk. Man sollte daher Airnergy mehr als gedanklichen Ansatz für die Zukunft sehen.

WiFi-Hotspot für Airnergy, Foto: RCA

WiFi-Hotspot für Airnergy, Foto: RCA

Beim Airnergy-Konzept wird der Hotspot über die USB-Schnittstelle eines Rechners gespeist. Eine Energieübertragung findet nur unter den genannten Voraussetzungen statt. Sie ist allerdings äußerst gering und dürfte ja nach Entfernung zwischen dem Hotspot und dem Handy im Mikrowatt-Bereich liegen.

Neben dem Airnergy-Konzept gibt es mit PowerBeam und WiTricity zwei weitere funkbasierte Energieübertragungskonzepte.

Informationen zum Artikel
Deutsch: Airnergy
Englisch:
Veröffentlicht: 01.12.2017
Wörter: 230
Tags: #Versorgung
Links: Akku (Akkumulator), EMR (electromagnetic radiation), Feldstärke, Funktechnik, Handy