ITWissen.info - Tech know how online

AspectJ

AspectJ is an extension of the Javaprogramming language with special constructs for aspect-oriented programming (AOP). AspectJ was already developed in 1996 by a team at the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center - significantly influenced by Georg Kiczales. Since 2002 AspectJ is also part of the Eclipse project, which provides up-to-date development tools. With the introduction of AOP, Java is only extended by a specific classAspect, which encapsulates the AOP-specific methods. The functional Java program code is interwoven with an Aspect at the previously defined interweaving points. In addition to the Java Runtime Environment (JRE), a corresponding compiler - also called Weaver - and the AspectJ Runtime Library are required to execute AspectJ program code. An Aspect is thus already present when a program is started, since it has been woven into the existing code by the Weaver, and is thus a physical part of the application and therefore does not need to be started separately.

AspectJ was the first aspect-oriented programming language, and since it is also based on the widespread programming language Java, AspectJ also has a wide distribution as well as a high acceptance.

For a comprehensible explanation of AspectJ, the following terms must first be explained.

Aspect Aspects implement so-called Crosscutting Concerns - also called crosscutting functionalities. This refers to general functionality such as logging, authentication, etc.

Join Point A join point is the point within a software where the AspectJ code is supposed to join the program flow. Join points can be executions of methods, the execution as well as the call of a constructor or the reference to data structures (variables).

Point Cut A point cut is a set of join points - also called interconnection points. This set can be empty or contain one, several or all join points.

Advice This is a term specific to AspectJ and defines what is implemented at the join points of a point cut and when. Advices consist of normal Java program code. For the time of insertion of the AspectJ code can be defined: before, after and around.

Inter Type Declaration With the use of AOP, dynamic extension of classes is possible, which is called Inter Type Declaration.

Aspects, Point Cuts and Join Point

Aspects, Point Cuts and Join Point

The figure illustrates the relationship between aspects, point cuts and join points. There, the join point is a fixed location in the program flow that coordinates aspect and non-aspect oriented code.

Aspect-oriented programming extends the existing Java classes by a single special class Aspect, which then encapsulates its own data structures and methods. A central element here are the point cuts, which can be built up from the above-mentioned methods, among others, or can be formed by a number of further selection methods. AspectJ intervenes in the structure of the classes of an application at runtime, without the application specifically knowing about the existence of the aspect class. Since AspectJ allows, among other things, the use of wildcards with regard to the selection of classes, methods, etc. by pattern matching, the aspect does not need to know anything about the class to which it ultimately accesses. The implementation of an aspect - the weaving of an aspect into the Java program code - is then done either at compile time or at runtime, which then affects the performance of an application.

AspectJ supports generic and parameterized types in pointcuts, intertype declarations, and inheritance. Since version 5 of AspectJ, features such as annotations, generics, autoboxing, and unboxing can be used. Annotations can mark aspects and within aspects methods, fields, constructors, advices etc. with metadata. Annotations can also be specified in pointcuts as additional conditions for interweaving points.

Representing the Notations of AspectJ

Representing the Notations of AspectJ

The following is an example of representing the notation of AspectJ. The aspect Trace defines a pointcut for calling all methods with add with arbitrary arguments as well as arbitrary return value. In addition, Trace defines two advices.

For working with AspectJ the following components are basically combined in one package:

  • The AspectJ compiler (weaver) ajc.
  • The AspectJ interpreter aj.
  • The AspectJ Runtime Library ASPECTJRT_LIB.
The weaving of a Java class with an aspect is done statically based on the source code using the compiler ajc. To do this, ajc first compiles the Java classes and the aspects and then interweaves them based on the bytecode generated. In order to then use the application created in this way, the well-known Java Runtime Environment (JRE) is then sufficient.

The advantages of AspectJ include a better modularization of the application, the possibility of code reuse and it can be used very flexibly, since it is possible to switch quickly and without loss of performance between Java and AspectJ code.

These are countered by the following disadvantages: The definition of point cuts requires an unrestricted knowledge of the application classes, AspectJ code is not automatically restructurable, the creation of a point cut with associated advice is often more time-consuming than direct Java code, the use of AspectJ requires a special development environment for more complex projects, and the syntax of AspectJ sometimes deviates considerably from Java syntax.

AspectJ is subject to constant further development and is supported by a number of development environments such as Emacs, JBuilder and Netbeans. Also, of course, by Eclipse, which runs both an AspectJ project and a separate AspectJ Development Tools project. The latter develops plugins for AspectJ Eclipse. By integrating it as a plugin into the Eclipse development environment, a special editor for AspectJ is available, as well as a number of other features:

  • Automatic generation of AspectJ documentation.
  • The interconnection points are displayed in the source code.
  • Aspects can be configured controlled by a wizard.
  • Build files can be edited and managed.
  • Debugging can be done graphically.
  • The source code is automatically completed.
Another implementation of AspectJ is the AspectBench compiler (also called abc), which is both a reference compiler to ajc and a complementary framework for implementing extensions to AspectJ. In this regard, abc also aims to optimize the language core of AspectJ. In this respect, abc is a university project from the USA, Canada and Denmark. For this purpose, abc builds on the two independent frameworks Polyglot and Soot. In addition, the complete runtime library was taken from ajc. A major difference is that compiling aspects are not supported separately.

Informationen zum Artikel
Englisch: AspectJ
Updated at: 14.04.2010
#Words: 1719
Links:

AspectJ

Bei AspectJ handelt es sich um eine Erweiterung der Programmiersprache Java um spezielle Konstrukte zur aspektorientierten Programmierung (AOP). AspectJ wurde bereits 1996 von einem Team am Xerox Palo Alto Research Center - maßgeblich beeinflusst von Georg Kiczales - entwickelt. AspectJ ist seit dem Jahr 2002 auch Teil des Eclipse Projekts, welches aktuelle Development Tools zur Verfügung stellt. Mit Einführung der AOP wird Java nur um eine bestimmte Klasse Aspect ergänzt, die die AOP-spezifischen Methoden kapselt. Der funktionale Java-Programm-Code wird an den zuvor definierten Verwebungspunkten mit einem Aspekt verwoben. Für die Ausführung von AspectJ-Programmcode werden neben dem Java Runtime Environment (JRE) ein entsprechender Compiler - auch Weaver genannt - und die AspectJ Runtime Library benötigt. Ein Aspect ist dadurch beim Start eines Programms bereits gegenwärtig, da er durch den Weaver in den vorhandenen Code eingewebt wurde, und somit physischer Teil der Anwendung ist und braucht daher auch nicht separat gestartet zu werden.

AspectJ war die erste aspektorientierte Programmiersprache, und da sie zudem noch auf der weit verbreiteten Programmiersprache Java basiert, besitzt auch AspectJ ebenso eine weite Verbreitung sowie eine hohe Akzeptanz.

Für eine verständliche Erläuterung von AspectJ, müssen zunächst die folgenden Begriffe erläutert werden.

Aspekt. Aspekte implementieren sogenannte Crosscutting Concerns - auch Querschnittsfunktionalitäten genannt. Damit ist eine generelle Funktion wie Logging, Authentifizierung etc. gemeint.

Join Point. Mit Join Point wird die Stelle innerhalb einer Software bezeichnet, an denen sich der AspectJ-Code in den Programmfluss einklinken soll. Join Points können Ausführungen von Methoden sein, die Ausführung sowie der Aufruf eines Konstruktors oder die Referenz auf Datenstrukturen (Variablen).

Point Cut. Als Point Cut wird eine Menge von Join Points - auch Verwebungspunkte genannt- bezeichnet. Diese Menge kann leer sein oder einen, mehrere oder alle Join Points enthalten.

Advice. Dies ist ein spezifischer Begriff von AspectJ und definiert, was zu welchem Zeitpunkt an den Join Points eines Point Cuts umgesetzt wird. Advices bestehen aus ganz normalem Java Programmcode. Für den Zeitpunkt des Einfügens des AspectJ-Codes können festgelegt werden: before, after und around.

Inter Type Declaration. Mit Anwendung der AOP ist eine dynamische Erweiterung von Klassen möglich, was als Inter Type Declaration bezeichnet wird.

Aspekte, 
   Point Cuts und Join Point

Aspekte, Point Cuts und Join Point

Die Abbildung verdeutlicht den Zusammenhang zwischen Aspekten, Point Cuts und Join Points. Dort ist der Join Point eine im Programmablauf fest definierte Stelle, die den Aspekt- und den nicht-aspektorientierten Code koordiniert.

Die aspektorientierte Programmierung erweitert die vorhandenen Java-Klassen um eine einzige spezielle Klasse Aspect, die dann ihre eigenen Datenstrukturen und Methoden kapselt. Ein zentrales Element dabei sind die Point Cuts, die u.a. aus den o.g. Methoden aufgebaut sein bzw. noch durch eine Reihe weiterer Auswahlmethoden gebildet werden können. Von AspectJ wird zur Laufzeit in die Struktur der Klassen einer Anwendung eingegriffen, ohne dass die Anwendung speziell vom Vorhandensein der Aspekt-Klasse Kenntnis hat. Da AspectJ u.a. die Verwendung von Wildcards hinsichtlich der Auswahl der Klassen, Methoden u.a. durch Pattern-Matching gestattet, muss auch der Aspekt von der Klasse nichts wissen, auf welche er letztendlich zugreift. Die Umsetzung eines Aspektes - das Einweben eines Aspektes in den Java-Programmcode - erfolgt dann entweder mit der Compilierung oder zur Laufzeit, was dann Auswirkungen auf die Performance einer Anwendung hat.

AspectJ unterstützt generische und parametrisierte Typen in pointcuts, intertype declarations sowie bei der Vererbung. Seit der Version 5 von AspectJ können Features wie Annotations, Generics, Autoboxing und Unboxing verwendet werden. Annotationen können Aspekte und innerhalb von Aspekten Methoden, Felder, Konstruktoren, Advices etc. mit Metadaten kennzeichnen. Annotationen können auch in Pointcuts als zusätzliche Bedingungen für Verwebungspunkte angegeben werden.

Darstellung der Notationen von AspectJ

Darstellung der Notationen von AspectJ

Nachfolgend ein Beispiel zur Darstellung der Notation von AspectJ. Dabei definiert der Aspekt Trace einen pointcut für den Aufruf aller Methoden mit add mit beliebigen Argumenten sowie beliebigem Rückgabewert. Zudem werden von Trace zwei Advices definiert.

Für die Arbeit mit AspectJ sind grundsätzliche folgende Komponenten in einem Paket zusammengefasst:

  • Der AspectJ Compiler (Weaver) ajc.
  • Der AspectJ Interpreter aj.
  • Die AspectJ Runtime Library ASPECTJRT_LIB.

Die Verwebung einer Java-Klasse mit einem Aspekt erfolgt statisch auf Basis des Quellcodes mit Hilfe des Compilers ajc. Dazu werden von ajc zunächst die Java-Klassen und die Aspekte compiliert und diese dann auf Basis des so generierten Bytecodes verwoben. Um dann die so entstandene Anwendung zu nutzen, genügt dann das bekannt Java Runtime Environment (JRE).

Zu den Vorteilen von AspectJ zählen eine bessere Modularisierung der Anwendung, die Möglichkeit der Wiederverwendung von Code und es kann sehr flexibel genutzt werden, da schnell und ohne Verluste von Performance zwischen Java- und AspectJ-Code umzuschalten ist.

Denen stehen die folgenden Nachteile gegenüber: Die Definition von Point Cuts setzt eine uneingeschränkte Kenntnis der Anwendungsklassen voraus, AspectJ-Code ist nicht automatisch restrukturierbar, die Erstellung eines Point Cuts mit zugehörigem Advice ist häufig aufwendiger als direkter Java-Code, die Nutzung von AspectJ setzt bei komplexeren Projekten eine spezielle Entwicklungsumgebung voraus und die Syntax von AspectJ weicht teilweise erheblich von der Java-Syntax ab.

AspectJ unterliegt einer ständigen weiteren Entwicklung und wird von einer Reihe von Entwicklungsumgebungen wie Emacs, JBuilder und Netbeans unterstützt. Außerdem natürlich von Eclipse, bei dem sowohl eine AspectJ-Projekt und ein separates AspectJ Development Tools-Projekt läuft. Letzteres entwickelt für AspectJ Eclipse Plugins. Durch die Integration als Plugin in die Entwicklungsumgebung Eclipse ist ein spezieller Editor für AspectJ verfügbar sowie eine Reihe weiterer Funktionen:

  • Automatische Generierung von AspectJ-Dokumentation.
  • Die Verwebungspunkte werden im Quellcode angezeigt.
  • Durch einen Wizard gesteuert, können Aspekte konfiguriert werden.
  • Build-Dateien können bearbeitet und verwaltet werden.
  • Das Debugging kann auf grafischem Wege erfolgen.
  • Der Quellcode wird automatisch vervollständigt.

Eine weitere Implementierung von AspectJ ist der AspectBench Compiler (auch abc genannt), der sowohl ein Referenz-Compiler zu ajc ist, als auch als ein ergänzendes Framework zur Implementierung von Erweiterungen zu AspectJ. Diesbezüglich hat abc auch die Optimierung des Sprachkerns von AspectJ zum Ziel. Dabei handelt es sich bei abc um ein universitäres Projekt aus den USA, Kanada und Dänemark. Dazu baut abc auf den beiden eigenständigen Frameworks Polyglot und Soot auf. Zudem wurde die komplette Laufzeit-Bilbiothek aus ajc entnommen. Ein wesentlicher Unterschied ist, dass das Compilieren von Aspekten nicht separat unterstützt wird.

Informationen zum Artikel
Deutsch: AspectJ
Englisch:
Veröffentlicht: 13.04.2010
Wörter: 1052
Tags: #Java
Links: Ablaufverfolgung, Annotation, Aspekt, Aspektorientierte Programmierung, Authentifizierung
1